A cautionary tale – don’t do what I did!

rav4

Last Sunday afternoon I was driving the Rav 4 down Tahunanui Drive along the seashore, windows down, stereo blaring, wind blowing through my graying unkempt hair.

tahunatahunanui drive

Lost in memories and dreams of my lost years I inadvertently put my foot down. The speedometer soon reaching 70km ph. Within minutes, looking up at my rear vision mirror, I suddenly spied flashing red and blue lights behind me.

police car

I don’t know why I did it; I’ve never ever been in trouble with the law before? But I suddenly got this naughty urge to keep going and try to out run the cops. In my heart I knew it wasn’t possible to out run the police in the Rav, so I pulled over at the Auckland Point School playground and started running away on foot.

auckland point

Unfortunately, I soon learnt that If you’re being chased by a police dog, try not to go through a tunnel, then on to a little seesaw, then scale and jump over a wall; they’re trained for that!

police dog

Bailed up against the back fence of the school the cop approached me. I dreaded that he was about to throw the book at me!

He looked at me and asked for my licence.

“Look’, he said, it’s been a long day, this is the end of my shift and it’s Sunday, the end of my working week. Honestly mate, I don’t feel like any more paperwork; so if you can give me an excuse for your driving that I haven’t heard before, you can go.”

I thought for a second and said, “last week my wife ran off with a cop. I was afraid you were trying to give her back.”

“Enjoy the rest of your weekend, said the officer, handing me back my licence before walking away.

waah waahthumb

Leave a Reply

